Ministerial Decision Ministerial Decision No. 120 of 2023 Ministry of Finance
MD 120/2023 — Transitional adjustments for assets held before the first Tax Period
Ministerial Decision No. 120 of 2023 on Adjustments Under the Transitional Rules for the Purposes of Federal Decree-Law No. 47 of 2022 on the Taxation of Corporations and Businesses
Official Arabic text (opens in a new tab) English translation (unofficial) (opens in a new tab)
- Official Arabic title
- قرار وزاري رقم (120) لسنة 2023 — التعديلات بموجب الأحكام الانتقالية لأغراض المرسوم بقانون اتحادي رقم (47) لسنة 2022 في شأن الضريبة على الشركات والأعمال
- Document type
- Ministerial Decision
- Number
- 120
- Issued by
- Ministry of Finance
- Administered by
- Federal Tax Authority
- Issued
- 16 May 2023
- Entry into force
- Effective from the day following its publication (Art. 6); the Official Gazette publication date is not stated in the text. Issued 16 May 2023.
- Applies to
- Taxable Persons disposing of immovable property, intangible assets, or financial assets and liabilities that they (or their group) held at historical cost before their first Tax Period.
- Current position
- In force. The elections are made once, with the first Tax Return.
- Topics
- Corporate Tax ·
- Official text
- Official Arabic text · English translation (unofficial)
Factual summary
Lets a Taxable Person exclude from Corporate Tax the part of a gain that accrued before its first Tax Period on assets held at historical cost. For immovable property it chooses, per property, between a market-value method (value set by the competent government authority) and a time-apportionment method; intangible assets use time apportionment, with pre-tax ownership capped at 10 years except in exceptional circumstances approved by the Authority; financial assets and liabilities use market value at the start of the first Tax Period. Group ownership counts for these tests.
What it means in practice Professional insight
Who: businesses that held real estate, intangibles or financial instruments at cost before Corporate Tax began. What to check: that the election was made in the first Tax Return, the method chosen per property, and the valuation evidence at the start of the first Tax Period.
Key provisions
- Art. 2(1) For Art. 20(2)(i) and Art. 61(1) of the Corporate Tax Law, a Taxable Person may elect to adjust its Taxable Income for gains on Immovable Property owned before its first Tax Period, measured at historical cost, and disposed of (or deemed disposed of) during or after the first Tax Period for more than its net book value.
- Art. 2(2) On disposal of each Qualifying Immovable Property the Taxable Person excludes either the gain that would have arisen at the start of the first Tax Period at Market Value (determined by the relevant government competent authority), taking cost as the higher of original cost and net book value, or a time-apportioned gain based on days owned before the first Tax Period over total days owned (Art. 2(3)–(4)).
- Art. 2(5) The election is made for each Qualifying Immovable Property on submission of the first Tax Return and is irrevocable except in exceptional circumstances with the Authority's approval.
- Art. 3 A similar election applies to all Qualifying Intangible Assets, using the time-apportionment method only; it is made on the first Tax Return, is irrevocable save in exceptional circumstances, and the days owned before the first Tax Period may not exceed 10 years except in exceptional circumstances with the Authority's approval.
- Art. 4 For all Financial Assets and Financial Liabilities owned before the first Tax Period and measured at historical cost, the Taxable Person may exclude on disposal the gain or loss that would have arisen at the start of the first Tax Period at Market Value against net book value; the election is made on the first Tax Return and is irrevocable save in exceptional circumstances.
- Art. 5 Ownership by a member of the same Qualifying Group (Art. 26(1)) or Tax Group (Art. 42(1)) counts as ownership for these tests, and its holding period counts too, except any period before the most recent Non-Qualifying Transfer.
What changed
- 16 May 2023 Issued
- Entry into force: Effective from the day following its publication (Art. 6); the Official Gazette publication date is not stated in the text. Issued 16 May 2023.
Relationship chain
Law → decisions made under it → amendments → guidance and announcements; oldest first within each level.
- 3 October 2022 Federal Decree-Law FDL 47/2022 — Corporate Tax Law In force — amended
- 30 December 2022 Cabinet Decision CD 116/2022 — AED 375,000 rate band — Made under Art. 3(1) In force
- 10 March 2023 Ministerial Decision MD 43/2023 — Persons that do not register for Corporate Tax — Made under it In force
- 29 March 2023 Ministerial Decision MD 68/2023 — Government Entity businesses treated as a single Taxable Person — Made under Art. 5(6) In force
- 3 April 2023 Ministerial Decision MD 73/2023 — Small Business Relief — Made under Art. 21 In force — amended
- August 2023 Official guide FTA guide CTGSBR1 — Small Business Relief — Official guide Current version
- 29 July 2026 Ministerial Decision MD 131/2026 — SBR extended to 2029 — Amends Art. 2(2) In force
- 7 August 2026 Official announcement MoF news 7 Aug 2026 — SBR to 2029 — Announcement Current version
- 7 April 2023 Cabinet Decision CD 37/2023 — Qualifying Public Benefit Entities (list updated September 2026) — Made under it In force — amended
- 7 April 2023 FTA Decision FTA Decision 5/2023 — When a Corporate Tax period can be changed — Made under Art. 58 In force
- 7 April 2023 FTA Decision FTA Decision 6/2023 — Deadline to deregister for Corporate Tax — Made under Art. 52(1) In force
- 7 April 2023 FTA Decision FTA Decision 7/2023 — Exempt persons' registration and exemption applications (repealed) — Made under Art. 4(1) Repealed
- 10 April 2023 Ministerial Decision MD 82/2023 — Who had to prepare audited financial statements (repealed) — Made under Art. 54(2) Repealed
- 10 April 2023 Ministerial Decision MD 83/2023 — When a stranded individual does not create a Permanent Establishment — Made under Art. 14(7)(a) In force
- 27 April 2023 Ministerial Decision MD 97/2023 — Who must keep a transfer pricing master file and local file — Made under Art. 55(2) In force
- 4 May 2023 Ministerial Decision MD 105/2023 — When a Person stays exempt, or stops being exempt from a different date — Made under Art. 4(6) In force
- 8 May 2023 Cabinet Decision CD 49/2023 — When an individual's business is subject to Corporate Tax — Made under Art. 11(6) In force
- 9 May 2023 Ministerial Decision MD 114/2023 — Accounting standards and the cash basis for Corporate Tax — Made under Art. 20 In force
- 10 May 2023 Ministerial Decision MD 115/2023 — Private pension and social security funds — Made under Art. 4 In force
- 10 May 2023 Ministerial Decision MD 116/2023 — Participation exemption (repealed) — Made under Arts. 23, 24 Repealed
- 16 May 2023 Ministerial Decision MD 120/2023 — Transitional adjustments for assets held before the first Tax Period — Made under Arts. 20, 61 In force
- 22 May 2023 Ministerial Decision MD 125/2023 — Tax Group (repealed) — Made under Arts. 40–42 Repealed
- 23 May 2023 Ministerial Decision MD 126/2023 — General interest deduction limitation rule — Made under Art. 30 In force
- 24 May 2023 Ministerial Decision MD 127/2023 — Unincorporated partnerships, foreign partnerships and family foundations (repealed) — Made under Arts. 16, 17 Repealed
- 25 May 2023 Ministerial Decision MD 132/2023 — Transfers of assets and liabilities within a Qualifying Group — Made under Art. 26 In force
- 25 May 2023 Ministerial Decision MD 133/2023 — Business Restructuring Relief — Made under Art. 27 In force
- 29 May 2023 Ministerial Decision MD 134/2023 — General rules for determining Taxable Income — Made under Art. 20 In force
- 30 May 2023 Cabinet Decision CD 56/2023 — Non-resident nexus through UAE real estate (repealed) — Made under Arts. 11, 12 Repealed
- 30 May 2023 Cabinet Decision CD 55/2023 — Qualifying Income of a Qualifying Free Zone Person (repealed) — Made under Art. 18 Repealed
- 1 June 2023 Ministerial Decision MD 139/2023 — Qualifying and excluded activities for free zone persons (repealed) — Made under Arts. 1, 4 Repealed
- 10 July 2023 Cabinet Decision CD 75/2023 — Corporate Tax administrative penalties — Made under it In force — amended
- 22 February 2024 Cabinet Decision CD 10/2024 — AED 10,000 penalty for late Corporate Tax registration — Amends Art. 1 In force
- 18 July 2023 Cabinet Decision CD 81/2023 — Conditions for qualifying investment funds and REITs (repealed) — Made under Art. 10(1) Repealed
- 16 August 2023 FTA Decision FTA Decision 11/2023 — Annual declaration for exempt persons — Made under Art. 53(5) In force
- 16 August 2023 FTA Decision FTA Decision 12/2023 — Tax Groups of government-owned subsidiaries — Made under Art. 40(2) In force
- 16 August 2023 FTA Decision FTA Decision 13/2023 — Converting foreign-currency amounts to AED for Corporate Tax — Made under Art. 43 In force
- 25 October 2023 Cabinet Decision CD 100/2023 — Qualifying Income of a Qualifying Free Zone Person — Made under Art. 18 In force
- 27 October 2023 Ministerial Decision MD 265/2023 — Qualifying and excluded activities for free zone persons (repealed) — Made under Arts. 4, 7 Repealed
- 28 August 2025 Ministerial Decision MD 229/2025 — Qualifying and excluded activities for free zone persons — Made under Arts. 4, 7 In force
- 29 August 2025 Ministerial Decision MD 230/2025 — Recognised price reporting agencies for qualifying commodity trading — Made under it In force
- 22 December 2025 Ministerial Decision MD 336/2025 — Dubai VARA added as a Competent Authority for free zone fund and wealth management — Made under Art. 1 In force
- 2 June 2026 FTA Decision FTA Decision 6/2026 — Free-zone distributors: auditor's agreed-upon procedures report — Made under it In force
- 15 December 2023 FTA Decision FTA Decision 16/2023 — Registering unincorporated partnerships and partners' shares (repealed) — Made under Arts. 16, 51 Repealed
- 1 March 2024 FTA Decision FTA Decision 3/2024 — CT registration deadlines — Made under Art. 51(1) In force
- 13 August 2024 Public Clarification CTP003 — first Corporate Tax period — Clarifies Arts. 57–58 Current version
- 25 September 2024 FTA Decision FTA Decision 7/2024 — First Corporate Tax return and payment deadline moved to 31 December 2024 — Made under Arts. 48, 53 Spent
- 28 October 2024 Ministerial Decision MD 261/2024 — Unincorporated partnerships, foreign partnerships and family foundations — Made under Arts. 16, 17 In force
- 19 May 2025 FTA Decision FTA Decision 5/2025 — Compliance for partnerships and family foundations — Made under Art. 4(3) In force
- 9 December 2024 Ministerial Decision MD 301/2024 — Tax Group rules — Made under Arts. 40–42 In force
- 10 December 2024 Ministerial Decision MD 302/2024 — Participation exemption and foreign PE exemption — Made under Arts. 23, 24 In force
- 31 December 2024 Cabinet Decision CD 142/2024 — Top-up Tax on multinational enterprises (Pillar Two) — Made under it In force
- 28 March 2025 Ministerial Decision MD 88/2025 — OECD commentary and guidance adopted for the UAE top-up tax (repealed) — Made under it Repealed
- 22 June 2026 Ministerial Decision MD 96/2026 — Updated OECD commentary and guidance adopted for the UAE top-up tax — Made under it In force
- 16 July 2026 FTA Decision FTA Decision 12/2026 — Top-up Tax registration and deregistration — Made under it In force
- 3 August 2026 Ministerial Decision MD 133/2026 — Who files the Pillar Two Information Return — Made under it In force
- 25 March 2025 Ministerial Decision MD 84/2025 — Who must prepare audited financial statements for Corporate Tax — Made under Art. 54(2) In force
- 16 July 2025 FTA Decision FTA Decision 7/2025 — Audited aggregated financial statements for Tax Groups — Made under Art. 2(2) In force
- 27 March 2025 Cabinet Decision CD 34/2025 — Qualifying investment funds, REITs and qualifying limited partnerships — Made under Art. 10(1) In force
- 14 April 2025 Ministerial Decision MD 96/2025 — 10% minimum free float for REITs listed in May 2025 — Made under Art. 4(1) In force
- 18 September 2025 FTA Decision FTA Decision 8/2025 — Compliance deadlines for qualifying investment funds and their investors — Made under Arts. 2, 3, 4 In force
- 27 March 2025 Cabinet Decision CD 35/2025 — When a non-resident has a nexus in the UAE — Made under Art. 11(4)(c) In force
- 2 May 2025 Cabinet Decision CD 55/2025 — Exemption for foreign entities owned by exempt persons — Made under Art. 4(1) In force
- 14 May 2025 Cabinet Decision CD 63/2025 — Unincorporated Partnership taxed in its own right — Made under Art. 16(8) In force
- 23 June 2025 Ministerial Decision MD 173/2025 — Depreciation for investment property at fair value — Made under Art. 20(3) In force
- 31 December 2025 Cabinet Decision CD 215/2025 — Research and development (R&D) tax credit — Made under it In force
- 18 March 2026 Ministerial Decision MD 24/2026 — R&D tax credit rates, qualifying activities and expenditure rules — Made under Arts. 5, 6, 7 In force
- 12 January 2026 Cabinet Decision CD 1/2026 — Corporate Tax exemption for certain sports entities — Made under Art. 4(1) In force
- 8 September 2026 FTA Decision FTA Decision 15/2026 — Applying for Corporate Tax exemption — Made under Art. 51(2) In force
Official sources
Official Arabic text (opens in a new tab) English translation (unofficial) (opens in a new tab)
Related services: Corporate Tax
Last verified against official sources: 26 October 2026 · اقرأ بالعربية
General information, not tax advice. Each record is checked against the official source; where they differ, the official Arabic text prevails.
